Candidate Commissioners for a connected digital single market

By Setembro 11, 2014PT

By Wieke van der Kroef

On Wednesday, September 9 Jean-Claude Juncker, President-elect of the European Commission presented the twenty-six candidate commissioners he has invited to join his team. The main changes in this new Commission are the introduction of vice-presidents who will act as team-leaders, coordinating a number of Commissioners working in the same field, and the merging of some portfolios.

One of the vice-presidents, Federica Mogherini (High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs) has already been confirmed by the Parliament. The other candidates will be evaluated by the parliament in hearings taking place in the week of September 28th and on October 21st the Parliament is expected to have a final vote on the college of candidate commissioners. If everything runs smoothly Juncker and his Commission will assume office on the 1st of November.

As Juncker stated in his Political Guidelines for the next Commission, one of the project teams will be working on the creation of ‘A Connected Digital Single Market’. This project team is led by Vice-president Andrus Ansip (Digital Single Market) and consists of:

  • Vĕra Jourová (Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality)
  • Günther Oettinger (Digital Economy and Society)
  • Pierre Moscovici (Economic and Financial Affairs, Taxation and Customs)
  • Marianne Thyssen (Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Labour Mobility)
  • Corina Creţu (Regional Policy)
  • Elżbieta Bieńkowska (Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs)
  • Phil Hogan (Agriculture and Rural Development)

and to a lesser extent also:

  • Vytenis Andriukaitis (Health & Food Safety)
  • Carlos Moedas (Research, Science and Innovation)
  • Jonathan Hill (Financial Stability, Financial Services and Capital Markets Union)
  • Margrethe Vestager (Competition)
  • and Tibor Navracsics (Education, Culture, Youth and Citizenship)